What if Your Face Didn’t Work… Physical Therapy to the Rescue

They say it’s easier to ‘smile’ than to ‘frown’. While that is mostly aimed at raising the spirits of a sad friend or family member, it turns out that, anatomically speaking, it’s not quite correct.

Apparently it involves about 11 or 12 muscles either way, and we rather take those muscles and their ability to work for granted until something goes wrong.

As a physical therapist I find myself needing to evaluate the many muscles of the face in patients having any type of facial paralysis or imbalance. This condition is sometimes called Bell’s Palsy.

As a physical therapist, my eyes automatically see beyond the superficial makeup, skin and hair appearance of my patients, to the symmetry of the bones and muscles of their face.

The head has an amazing complexity of varying sized bones linked to each other at joints with very strong muscles. Through the wide variety of facial muscles lie a vast network of web like nerves and blood vessels. All these work in synchrony, like an orchestra, to create the different expressions on our face.
It’s a Very Stressful Condition

My very first encounter with a facial muscle paralysis was during my internship. I still remember that patient till this very day. She was a 17 yr old student who came in with her mom.

One side of her face was completely drooped and she had her long hair draped over that side in an effort to conceal it. She was understandably very distraught and had not been attending school. Her mom was very worried and wanted reassurance that it would heal – fortunately it did.

Since that first encounter, I have seen many, many similar cases throughout my two decades of physical therapy practice. Most of them have been females, and usually there is a prior history of exposure to either a respiratory tract infection, common cold, a history of sinus issues, jaw pain or ear infections, to name a few.