No Words Can Convey The Gratitude I Have For Nurses

The nurse grabs me: “You have to check my patient now! She is screaming and bearing down.” Without letting go of my hand, she leads me into the labor room. I don’t even consider saying no, I know not to question this nurse. She has been a labor and delivery nurse nearly as long as I have been alive; she knows much more than I about everything.

The room is dark, but within seconds the nurse flicks a switch. I have to blink a few times to see in the now blazing light. Sure enough, the patient is screaming, her husband, wide-eyed, is trying to calm her. The nurse hands me a glove to examine the patient. As I do the exam, I look at the nurse and mouth “complete.” But in my head, it is more like “OH MY GOD! She is complete!” Calmly, the nurse tells the patient, “You are completely dilated.

We need to move you to a delivery room now. “ I run out to get help. I am a first-year resident, I need help. This baby is premature, this is not a first-year resident delivery. It’s 3 a.m., so my senior resident is sleeping. She gave me strict instructions to only wake her “if you really need help.” Emphasis on the really. In other words, “You better not call me because you are being wimpy.” Is this one of those times? How am I supposed to know, I’ve only been a resident for six months! I page her. No answer. My only other option is to call the attending in-house who is also sleeping. I’m so nervous, I enter in the wrong number.

I try again. By this time, the nurse and an anesthesia resident are passing by me as they push the patient back to the delivery area. I need to go back with them. I can’t wait any longer for someone to answer. I tell the ward clerk to send the resident or attending to the delivery area when they call back. She looks at me, “I know how to find them, don’t you worry.” I run to catch up with the others. In the delivery room, we help the patient move to a delivery bed.