I was an average medical student during my university days and here is my Usmle step 1 experience

My name is Farukhzad Hafizyar and I am a graduate of Kabul University of Medical Science(KUMS) on 2018. I was an average medical student during my university days and here is my Usmle step 1 experience.

Preparation time:
Total: 17 months(with lots of breaks and interruptions)
Dedicated: 4.5 months
Study hours: 4-6 hours/day in the beginning, 7-10 hours/day towards the end.

Major Study materials and sources :

1. #FirstAid: The main source, I read FA 5 times during my preparation, 3 times alone and 2 times alongside with Pathoma videos, and UWorld.
  2. #Pathoma_videos: I did these videos once alongside with FA at beginning of my preparation to familiarize myself with the pathology subject and to understand the basics of pathology and it was and excellent source for pathology.
  3. #UWorld: The most important source, I did UWorld after second round of FA and compered every topic of that with FA, which took 4.5 months of me. during my second round of UWorld I didn’t compere it with FA, but finished only 50 blocks out of 64. I recommend you to do UWorld at least 2 or 3 times, because UWorld alongside with FA covers about 90-95% of topics that are tested in the real exam.

Minor Study materials and sources:

1. UWorld biostat subject review once at end and it was very helpful.
  2. 100 Conrad Fischer once at end and it was a very good source for ethics.
  3. Boards and Beyond videos only for biostatistics and ethics which was a good source but not excellent.
  4. Rx videos: used occasionally which was a “waste of time”.

Major Materials that I didn’t use:

• Kaplan lectures and videos
  • BRS lectures
  • DIT videos
  • shelf notes for anatomy

Self assessments:

• UWorld first round: 81%
  • UWorld second round: 93%
  • Nbme 15(offline): 53 mistakes after second round of FA
  • UWSA 1: 241 (after finishing half of UWorld)
  • NBME 18(online): 238 (4 months ago)