Computer Work is Not Natural

Computer Work is Not Natural

I might be out socializing with my friends or taking my son to the park, when I have the opportunity to meet someone new. But the moment they learn that I’m a physical therapist, I’m often asked this common question: ” I have hand pain. What should I do?”

I suppose that encountering such an abundance of hand and wrist pain comes part and parcel with practicing in Silicon Valley. We live in the hub of computers and hi-tech and those who work on them do so for long hours.

As humans, our bodies are really not designed to do extensive computer work, and perhaps by Friday afternoon such a fact becomes readily apparent! But we do what we must and adapt to the occupation we have. So naturally, after a certain period of time, there is fallout from this unnatural adaptation, and in this case the hands and the wrists take the brunt.
The Graceful & Complex Hand

Our hands and wrists have muscles with long tendons (tendons are the ends of the muscles that attach to bones). These tendons travel over multiple, small bones with ridges, nooks and crannies. They also compete for space with nerves, arteries and veins.

To protect these tendons from friction over the bones and other structures, they have a coating which is smooth and lined with fluid. This helps the tendons to glide and perform their function successfully. These tendons are also lined with a myriad of small nerve cells which can be likened to chargers and batteries. These chargers give tendons important information on touch, pressure, temperature, vibration and many, many more things.

Modern technology has tried endlessly to come up with a similar functioning design to our hands and wrists to help people with amputations. But we have not been able, thus far to reach that amazing level of perfection.